Home / Archive by category "Kefalonia Island Sights"

Kefalonia Island Sights


Kefalonia Greece, being the largest Ionian island, offers unlimited options for activities and recreation. Hundreds of exquisite sandy and pebbled beaches can be found along the coastline. Countless activities and traditional festivals are held, spanning from April to October. View all options here and select the ones that suite your personal needs. Thousands of years of History and Culture guarantee that Kefalonia hosts some of the most important Cultural and Natural landmarks across Greece. Mycenean tombs, extraordinary natural phenomena or picturesque villages. Every landmark has its own unique story to tell and awaits to be explored.

Fortress of Assos

Fortress of Assos
The fortress of Assos was built in 1585 following a request by local ambassadors that the Venetians reinforce the island’s defense capacities. As it is a closed peninsula, Assos became the natural choice for the project, effectively making Assos the capital of northern Kefalonia. In practice however the project proved to be less than successful as the distant location and lack of potable water made creating a thriving settlement a challenge to say the least. Eventually, efforts were abandoned, a...
Read More

Castle/Fortress of St. George

Castle/Fortress of St. George
Built in the 12th century AD under Byzantine rule, the Castle of St. George truly flourished under the Venetians. Prior to 1757, this 16,000 sq.ft. structure served as the capital of Kefalonia, and concentrated all the main social, economic and cultural activity of the island. Incursions, wars, and finally the 1953 earthquake ravaged the castle however, leaving it in its present form.
Read More

Acqui Division Memorial in Argostoli

Acqui Division Memorial
The Acqui Division Memorial is a monument dedicated to the men of the Italian Acqui Division who were executed by the German occupation forces during World War II. During the war, the island was under the occupation of the Axis powers, but until 1943, the occupation was carried out almost exclusively by Italian troops—the Acqui Division—some 12,000 in number. When the Axis powers began to lose ground in the war, German troops were sent to reinforce those already stationed on the island, but were...
Read More

Statue of Nikos Kavadias

Statue of Nikos Kavadias
Nikos Kavadias (1910-1975) was a Greek poet of Kefalonian descent, whose writings have captured the imagination of countless readers the world over. Known as “the poet of the sea”, Kavadias often drew inspiration for his work from his travels and adventures as a sailor. His life provided fodder for powerful imagery and recurring metaphors of escape and the breaking of boundaries—themes he often dealt with in his art. His statue was erected near the pier in Argostoli—a bust of the poet appropriat...
Read More

Kosmetatos Residence in Argostoli

Kosmetatos Residence
A stately building on Rizospaston Avenue, the former Kosmetatos residence is one of the only buildings in Argostoli to have survived the 1953 earthquake. A testament to traditional Kefalonian architecture, the building was in fact ruined internally thought the external walls remained intact. Today, the building is Argostoli Municipal property, which guarantees its protection and restoration.
Read More

Fiskardo Lighthouse

Fiskardo Lighthouse
While there are two lighthouses that remain intact on the Fiskardo coastline, only one is actually functional. The older of the two was constructed under Venetian rule, and is complimented by a picturesque keeper’s house with garden. The taller structure is of newer construction and is still in working repair. Both offer magnificent views and complement the idyllic Fiskardo shoreline.
Read More

De Bosset Bridge in Argostoli

De Bosset Bridge in Argostoli
Built in 1813 by the Swiss engineer Charles Philippe DeBosset, the bridge connecting Argostoli with the village of Drapano was an architectural feat—the longest stone bridge to cross seawater. Midway across stands an obelisk structure commemorating its completion in four languages; Greek, English, Italian, and Latin. Though the inscription was modified by subsequent ruling forces, it originally read: “To the glory of the British Empire”. In the 1953 earthquake which devastated the island, roughl...
Read More

Korgialenios Museum of Folklore and Cultural History in Argostoli

Korgialenios Museum of Folklore and Cultural History in Argostoli
The Korgialenios museum can be found on the ground floor of the Korgialenios library complex. Established in 1962 by Eleni Kosmetatou, the collection takes the visitor on a tour of life on the island prior to the 1953. Exhibits include traditional costumes, furniture, heirlooms, ecclesiastical art, embroidery patterns, coins, jewels, manuscripts, and much more.
Read More

Korgialenios Library in Argostoli

Korgialenios Library in Argostoli
The Korgialenio public library was founded in 1924 thanks to a sizeable donation by Marinos Korgialenios. Though the site was significantly damaged in the 1953 earthquake, the building was restored to maintain its original architectural lines. The collection boasts upwards of 50,000 volumes, and aside from the typical library fare, one can find many rare books and manuscripts. Some of these include manuscripts of Byzantine sheet music, and Greek and foreign language editions from the 19th centur...
Read More
Top